A full moon and 24-hours less ordinary: Part 1

It started early Wednesday morning at 8:39am with a text from Mr. Edge-Wise:

“Good morning wonderful eyes, have a nice day.”

And later: I know you don’t know me but if there is something I can do for you just ask, and I’ll come right away.”

Followed by: “Give me a ring when you can talk and I’ll call you right back.”

If the crown fits?…

He has since written again several times and reiterated the same. I can’t imagine what he thinks I might need or what he can do. Hmmm, perhaps acquire that nice mandolin for 160Euros in the shop window in Naples? Save me from my chronic bohemian lifestyle? Pay my overdue internet bill and my rent for the next 6 months? I’d never so much as ask a friend for money, never mind a man I just met.

Most recently he has developed a habit of calling me “princess.” I fear he is making some serious projections, as that compliment looks about as good on me, as does a watermelon that has been thrown from a moving car on the autostrada.

Later that afternoon came the arrival of ‘The Traveler.’ An American man in his late 30’s, who I had spotted on a dating site a week prior. I failed to mention him in previous posts for the simple reason I figured meeting him and his traveling companion as ‘CouchSurfers’ would be business as usual – just a CouchSurf hosting deal and a chance to meet new people (it’s not like it would be a date). As he was decent looking in his photo and had a great profile overall, I decided to email him to see if he was an expat and what his deal was being in the country. After our exchange I discovered he had been traveling throughout Asia and now Europe for an extended period with his female friend: a Korean-American. He mentioned he’d be passing through my zone on the way to Eastern Europe, and if I knew about CouchSurfing. Obviously I did, and I agreed to host them for a night.

They called me from the road when they were nearby and I went up to meet them on the street to advise them where to park their vehicle. My first impression Mr. Traveler being his profile photo really didn’t do him justice…

He makes other men look like roadkill.

Funny thing about the GORGEOUS ones: Without thinking I automatically write them off for being too pretty, and shelf them in my friend-zone for being too far out of my league. Its better, as at a least I am pro-active and cancel out any possibilities of crush-manifestations (and subsequent mojo-squashing) thereafter. Anyways, it’s cool and less complicated to have them as friends.

Here we go again…

During our initial conversations I found both of them to be very cool, and I stress the word FREE. They had been traveling the open road for 2+ years. They were really LIVING, and I envied them. I had mentioned being Shiatsu Therapist and currently searching out work in Naples. Mr Traveler then asked me if I wouldn’t mind giving him a short treatment as he’d been driving for 6 hours.  I had no qualms over it, and set up a mat on my bedroom floor to work on him (without any expectations for him to reciprocate). As I worked we spoke about his travels and life in general. Mr. Traveler was chilled, and as he simply put it “happy.” (Here’s a guy you could throw in a room with Nazi skinheads and he’d still make friends). He seemed to have it all together with no excess baggage, guilt or hang-ups. The latter I discovered after I had finished and while he was reciprocating the massage. (And of course when we got naked…)

Yeah, I know – back up a wee bit…

Sorry peeps. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s Part 2…
And incidentally, guess who’s back from the friend-zone?

About Cakes McCain

Aka. 'Oliver Twist with Furniture and Diamonds' Ex-pat, lunatic, survivor - A Bridget Jones/Shirley Valentine hybrid, epically flawed, neurotic literary ‘dirty apple’ with a penchant for broad shoulders, epic orgasms, & lazy Sunday mornings eating cake in bed. Almost always broken-hearted, forever analysing everything to a bloody pulp and eternally obessing over 'Pasta for One - The Manuscript' a chick-lit memoir about living single in fabulous Italy, while trying not to throw yourself in front of a speeding bus.
This entry was posted in casual sex, dating, dating rejects, European men, Friends with benefits, friendship, guilt, hook-ups, humour, internet dating, Italian life, Italian men, Italy, Italy living, Lies, Life in Italy, Living in Italy, losers, love, MacDaddy, one night stand, online dating, perverts, players, relationships, self examination, self loathing, sex, single girl, social misfit, Uncategorized, web dating, x-pat, x-pats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A full moon and 24-hours less ordinary: Part 1

  1. sillyG says:

    I love a good surprise! ….and your inner dialogue :)

Leave a Reply

