4 days, first dates, and a slice of cake: Part 1

thecake

It all started in Big City, HERE on this plate…
Well, almost.

Backing up a few days earlier…

I expected to arrive at the airport in a cold sweat, but fortunately (or unfortunately depending how you look at it)  while staying with extended family in Big City and before exiting the house for the airport, there was an incident in the form of no one being at home – other than me (without a proper key to lock up), then locking the exterior doorknob for which I later discovered – none of the house’s residents had keys. Thus I was more terrified of my stepsister’s  demonic freak-o wannabe alpha-male boyfriend (aka. ‘Beercan’) ripping me a new asshole for locking everyone out. It was that, or risk thieves walking off with everything in the house. So shoot me.

Anyways, perhaps it was a good thing I wasn’t more nervous meeting this man who I had never met in person, but had been exchanging correspondence with for the past 7 months, and who had just flown 3559 miles over the Atlantic to meet me in my own country. However despite my displaced anxiety and the fact I should have been drowning in a pool of my own perspiration, I arrived looking f’cking  awesome… I was surprised how awesome, especially after spending  months of exile back in my hometown in various states of utter slobbery and disarray and feeling disgraced by being seen publicly in Uggs.

‘Sir English’ was as his photos portrayed: tall, slim, on the nerdy side…
VERY British.
The kind of vibe/package I have been totally digging these days…

Greetings Sherlock Holmes, a young Micheal Cane, Dr. Who...

Greetings Sherlock Holmes, a young Micheal Cane, Dr. Who…

As my gf chauffeured us back into the city from the airport, ‘Sir English’ and I exchanged animated small talk and decided to avoid  my temporary abode (along with its resident demon),  and instead first check him in at his lodgings nearby, then scout a locale for dinner.

After we had arrived and brought his bags inside, he then removed a  plastic bag from his luggage. To my delight he came bearing gifts… the bag contained a copy of Hemingway’s ‘A Moveable Feast’ he had bought for me in Paris at the infamous ‘Shakespeare & Co.’ and chocolate: champagne truffles, dark chocolate, milk chocolate… lots and lots of chocolate.

Very, very sweet indeed.

Bring it on...

I like this…

To be continued…

About Cakes McCain

Aka. 'Oliver Twist with Furniture and Diamonds' Ex-pat, lunatic, survivor - A Bridget Jones/Shirley Valentine hybrid, epically flawed, neurotic literary ‘dirty apple’ with a penchant for broad shoulders, epic orgasms, & lazy Sunday mornings eating cake in bed. Almost always broken-hearted, forever analysing everything to a bloody pulp and eternally obessing over 'Pasta for One - The Manuscript' a chick-lit memoir about living single in fabulous Italy, while trying not to throw yourself in front of a speeding bus.
This entry was posted in chocolate, dating, European men, food, friendship, hook-ups, humour, internet dating, love, online dating, relationships, single girl, social misfit, Uncategorized, web dating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 4 days, first dates, and a slice of cake: Part 1

  1. heidimunson104 says:

    Never meant to fall off the face of the earth. Getting head above water. Catch up soon

    Xoxo

  2. I got very happy reading this post. Nerdy British guys are totally rocking the world right now! I am hoping the best kind of luck for you! And even more so, I give you this: http://viciously-sweet.com/2013/03/27/another-slice-of-cakes/

  3. MJ says:

    Oh, this IS exciting!

  4. The Hook says:

    Good luck, cutie!

Leave a Reply

