The Loss…

Looking back on the 31st of December: The morning I was due to arrive in Toronto for New Years Eve, walking a thin line of sanity obsessing whether or not I should get on the next flight the airline had me booked on, then later opting out because for some reason (despite lack of sleep) the thought was making me extremely physically uncomfortable and borderline mentally unstable…

There is no doubt anymore why I felt this way. Yesterday, January 8th (the day I would have arrived home, had I gone away) my dog Ramona passed away at a local vet hospital after losing a battle with  Aspirated Pneumonia stemming from a condition (Canine Megaesophagus) that she was diagnosed with, and which seemingly just appeared out of nowhere a couple of days after Christmas.

I still don’t want to believe it. I want to go to sleep then wake up back in my old apartment when I was chronically pissed off at Italian men, hated my landlord, broke, living with 2 lovely dogs as ‘Oliver Twist with furniture and diamonds.’

Ramona2009 -2013

Ramona
2008 -2013
Rest in Peace

I had adopted her in September 2009 from an animal welfare volunteer as she had been abandoned with her 9 puppies. I first laid eyes on her the day I took her home.  Thin, exhausted, shy, and after weaning 9 pups – she barely knew how to be a dog. It didn’t take long to see how amazing she was. Great with adults, children, other dogs, cats…

Dogs collage 1

She loved everyone. She was special.
I didn’t just lose a dog, I lost a dear friend.

me n mo

Ramona and me, Summer 2012
Forever in my heart.

About Cakes McCain

Aka. 'Oliver Twist with Furniture and Diamonds' Ex-pat, lunatic, survivor - A Bridget Jones/Shirley Valentine hybrid, epically flawed, neurotic literary ‘dirty apple’ with a penchant for broad shoulders, epic orgasms, & lazy Sunday mornings eating cake in bed. Almost always broken-hearted, forever analysing everything to a bloody pulp and eternally obessing over 'Pasta for One - The Manuscript' a chick-lit memoir about living single in fabulous Italy, while trying not to throw yourself in front of a speeding bus.
This entry was posted in depression, dogs, grieving, Italian life, Italy living, loss of a pet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Loss…

  1. Marcela says:

    I am sorry for your loss. Ramona was a beautiful girl:)

  2. MJ says:

    Oh, I am so sorry, dearest. Truly. My Aussie girl can welcome her to the other side of the Rainbow Bridge as she just left our family a month ago. I know how hard the loss of a pet can be. They are family members. I’ll be thinking of you…

    “Rainbow Bridge”

    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.
    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

  3. abbynflicker says:

    So sorry for your loss. Your blog family is here for you even if we can’t be there for you. Sending you a big hug….

  4. daterofboys says:

    Condolences 😦 She looked (and sounded, from what you wrote) like a wonderful companion.

  5. Oh Cakes! I’m so sorry. I don’t even have a silly comment to make with this. I hope that you remember all the good times you spent with her, and think about the amazing life you gave her that she might never had if she hadn’t found you. I think it is wonderful you took such good care of a beautiful animal.
    ♥ and more ♥

  6. A Dog With Fleas says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your gorgeous friend and pet. I am so sorry for your loss. It is hard, because are pets are the only ones who love us unconditionally.

  7. SillyG says:

    Cakes, I am so sorry. Losing pets is honestly one of the hardest things….

  8. storyofalice says:

    She looks so sweet and pretty. Sorry for your loss.

  9. V.V. Wolf says:

    I am completely devastated for you darlin’. How are you holding up these days? I meant to message you and will do that this week. Hang in there. Un abbraccio forte

Leave a comment